آسيا

قدمت اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين المساعدة للبلدان المطلة على المحيط الهندي والمتضررة من كارثة تسونامي في عام 2004، وقامت بإنشاء ملفات الحمض النووي الشخصية للمئات من الضحايا في تايلند وجزر المالديف. وفي عاميّ 2008، و2013 ساعدت اللجنة السلطات الفلبينية في تحديد هوية الضحايا بعد الخسائر الفادحة في الأرواح نتيجة الأعاصير الضخمة التي اجتاحتها.

 

 

في هذا القسم

جزر المالديف

أثر إعصار تسونامي في المحيط الهندي عام 2004 بشدة على أرخبيل المالديف المنخفضة. غمرت أجزاء من البلاد بالكامل بعد وقوع الكارثة مباشرة. توفي ما يقرب من مائة من المالديف، وتم الإبلاغ عن عدد كبير في عداد المفقودين. أنشأت اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين ملفات الحمض النووي لبقايا 149 شخص مفقود. ولسوء الحظ، لم يتم إحراز أي […]

اقرأ المزيد

الفلبينيين

في يونيو/ حزيران 2008 ضرب إعصار فرانك – المعروف أيضاً باسم تايفون فنغشن – الفلبين والصين ، مما ألحق أضراراً بالغة وأدى إلى وفاة ما لا يقل عن 1500 شخص وترك أكثر من 1000 شخص في عداد المفقودين. وهي عبارة عن عبّارة مساحتها 24،000 طن، وهي السفينة إم. إس. أميرة من النجوم، انقلبت في العاصفة، […]

اقرأ المزيد

تايلاند

منذ عام 2003 ، فقد أكثر من 800 2 شخص في تايلند (باستثناء أولئك الذين فقدوا في تسونامي 2004). يعكس ارتفاع عدد الأشخاص المفقودين التحديات المستمرة في تعزيز مؤسسات وممارسات المجتمع الذي يحكمه القانون. في ديسمبر 2004 ، تسبب ثالث أكبر زلزال على الإطلاق في تسونامي مدمر على طول المناطق الساحلية في المحيط الهندي. تم الإبلاغ […]

اقرأ المزيد

Asia

ICMP offered assistance to all countries affected by the Indian Ocean Tsunami of December 2004 and produced DNA profiles to identify hundreds of victims in Thailand and the Maldives. In 2008 and 2013, ICMP helped the authorities in The Philippines identify victims following extensive loss of life as a result of major hurricanes.

In this section

The Maldives

The 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami severely impacted the low-lying Maldives archipelago. Parts of the country were completely submerged immediately after the disaster. Approximately one hundred Maldivians died, and a large number were reported missing. ICMP established DNA profiles for the remains of 149 missing persons. Unfortunately, no progress was made in obtaining family reference samples […]

Read more

The Philippines

In June 2008 Typhoon Frank – also known as Typhoon Fengshen – struck the Philippines and China, causing severe damage and resulting in at least 1,500 deaths and leaving more than 1,000 unaccounted for. A 24,000-ton ferry, the M.S. Princess of the Stars, capsized in the storm, leaving more than 700 people missing. It is […]

Read more

Thailand

Since 2003, as many as 2,800 people have gone missing in Thailand (not including those who were lost in the 2004 tsunami). The high incidence of missing persons reflects ongoing challenges in consolidating the institutions and practices of a society ruled by law. In December 2004, the third largest earthquake ever recorded triggered a devastating […]

Read more

Turkey

The Country Report on Human Rights Practices in Turkey compiled by the US State Department’s Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights and Labor for 2013 notes that the Turkish authorities have made some progress in investigating previous cases of disappearances, many from the early 1990s and quotes a report by the Human Rights Association of Turkey(HRA), stating […]

Read more