الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا

لأكثر من أربعة عقود عانت البلدان الواقعة في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا وبشكل جسيم من مشكلة المفقودين جرّاء القمع السياسي، والحروب والصراعات الأهلية، مثل: الصراع الأهلي اللبناني، والحرب الإيرانية العراقية، والعمليات العدائية الأخيرة في العراق وسوريا وليبيا التي تسببت في تصاعد في عدد الأشخاص المفقودين. وقد شاركت اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين في حل القضايا بشكل مباشر وساعدت السلطات ومنظمات المجتمع المدني على إنشاء آليات وشبكات لمواجهة هذا التحدي بطريقة مستدامة وفعالة.

في هذا القسم

العراق

يعاني العراق من أعداد كبيرة جدا من الأشخاص المفقودين. تتراوح التقديرات من 250,000 إلى مليون شخص مفقود بعد عقود من الصراع وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. اليوم هناك الملايين من أقرباء المفقودين في العراق الذين يعانون من عدم اليقين الذي يحيط بمصير أحد أفراد أسرتهم. تعمل اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين على مساعدة العراق على بناء القدرات المؤسسية […]

اقرأ المزيد

الكويت

في 2 أغسطس 1990، غزا العراق الكويت، التي ضمها بعد ذلك بيومين. بعد سبعة أشهر من الاحتلال العراقي، طردت قوات التحالف التي قادتها الولايات المتحدة القوات العراقية. خلال فترة الاحتلال، تدعي الكويت أن أكثر من 600 من مواطنيها في عداد المفقودين، بينما يدعي العراق من جانبه أن أكثر من 1000 عراقي اختفى في الكويت. ما […]

اقرأ المزيد

ليبيا

وفقا لوزارة رعاية أسر الشهداء والمفقودين، تشير التقديرات إلى أن عدد الأشخاص المفقودين في ليبيا يصل إلى 10,000. ويشمل هذا العدد الأشخاص المفقودين نتيجة للصراع عام 2011، فضلا عن أولئك الذين فقدوا خلال حكم معمر القذافي الذي استمر 42 عاما، بما في ذلك المفقودون في حرب 1977 مع مصر، وحرب 1979 مع أوغندا والحروب مع […]

اقرأ المزيد

سوريا

منذ مارس/آذار 2011، تشير التقديرات التي ذكرتها الأمم المتحدة في عام 2019 انه فقد مئات الآلاف من السوريين بينما نزح أكثر من 6.5 مليون مواطن داخل البلاد ولجأ ما يقارب 5.6 مليون شخصٍ آخر إلى لبنان وتركيا والأردن والعراق وأوروبا وبلدان أخرى بحثًا عن الأمان وفقًا لبيانات مفوضية شؤون اللاجئين لعام 2018، وهذا يعني أن […]

اقرأ المزيد

Middle East and North Africa

For more than four decades countries in the Middle East and North Africa have faced a significant missing persons problem as a result of political repression, wars and civil strife. The Lebanese civil conflict, the Iran-Iraq war and the more recent hostilities in Iraq, Syria and Libya have created an upsurge in the number of missing persons. ICMP has been involved in solving cases directly and has helped authorities and civil society organizations to establish mechanisms and networks that can address this challenge in a sustained and effective way.

In this section

Iraq

Iraq is affected by very high numbers of missing persons. Estimates run from a 250,000 to one million people missing from decades of conflict and human rights abuses. Today there are millions of relatives of the missing in Iraq who struggle with uncertainty surrounding the fate of a loved one. ICMP is working to help Iraq […]

Read more

Kuwait

On 2 August 1990, Iraq invaded Kuwait, which it annexed two days later. After seven months of Iraqi occupation, a US-led coalition evicted the Iraqi forces. During the occupation, Kuwait contends that more than 600 of its citizens went missing, while Iraq, for its part contends that over 1,000 Iraqis disappeared in Kuwait. A so-called […]

Read more

Libya

According to the Ministry for the Families of Martyrs and the Missing (MFMM), there are estimated to be up to 10,000 persons missing in Libya. This number includes persons missing as a result of the 2011 conflict, as well as those who went missing during Muammar Gaddafi’s 42-year rule, including in the 1977 war with […]

Read more

Syria

Estimates cited by the UN in 2019 indicate that over 100,000 persons are missing as a result of the current conflict in Syria. In addition, the country has a legacy of missing and disappeared persons cases linked to human rights abuses and other causes that occurred prior to the conflict. Syrians who have fled the […]

Read more